Homer High School

2003-2006 Baseball Team
Inducted to the Hall of Fame in: 2016

From 2003-2006, no high school team in the nation was as successful as the Homer High School Trojans -- and that success was both meteoric and historic.

Coached by Scott Salow, the Homer Trojans played 149 games in the four-year span and won 143 of them. Even more remarkable, from Opening Day 2004 through 2005, Homer won 75 straight games to break both the state and national record for consecutive victories. The record-setting streak featured 47 wins ended by mercy rule, 41 shutouts, 12 no-hitters and two perfect games. Along the way, the Homer Trojans clinched the first undefeated state baseball championship in Michigan history, going a perfect 38-0 in 2004. The team’s star pitcher was Josh Collmenter, who went on to shine at Central Michigan University before making the Major Leagues with the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Homer’s run to glory in 2005 was interrupted in the championship game, ending a pursuit of back-to-back state titles – and so the Trojans picked back up where they left off in 2006 and went 38-1 en route to a second championship. The accolades flooded in: Salow was named the 2006 National Baseball Coach of the Year as well as the Michigan High School Coaches Association Division 3 Coach of the Year. Evansville-bound pitcher Dan Holcomb and Central Michigan-bound catcher Dale Cornstubble shared the 2006 Michigan Mr. Baseball Award.

Holcomb, the school valedictorian, had posted a 15-0 record with a 0.73 ERA during his triumphant senior year. He finished his high school career with a 45-1 record, nine no-hitters and four perfect games, including tossing a no-hitter and perfect game in back-to-back starts. As for Cornstubble, he ascended immediately into the Chippewas’ starting catching role and was later drafted by the Kansas City Royals.

The Trojans’ success has brought notice to the entire community. They were featured in ESPN’s 50 States in 50 Days, representing Michigan, and have had two separate books written about their accomplishments.

Copyright © 2018. Michigan Baseball Hall of Fame.